Western Vascular Society Founders Award

Learn about the Western Vascular Society Founders Award and its winners.

The Western Vascular Society Founders Award of $1000 and a commemorative plaque recognizes the best paper presented at the annual meeting by a new member who is within three years of their acceptance to the Society. It is named for the original organizing committee that met in October of 1984 and established the Western Vascular Society. This group consisted of Drs. Wesley Moore, Victor Bernhard, Sterling Edwards, Jerry Goldstone, John Porter, Robert Rutherford, and D. Eugene Strandness. The first meeting of the Western Vascular Society was held in Laguna-Nigel, California from January 23-26, 1986. At that meeting, the organizing committee met as the Executive Council and approved bylaws for the new Society and accepted a proposed list of founding members from the Western region.

2023 Founders Award Winner

Sundeep Guliani, MD

University of New Mexico

Traumatic Aortic Disruption Index (TADI) Predicts Mortality and Urgency of Stent Grafting in Blunt Thoracic Aortic Pseudoaneurysms

Mimmie Kwong, MD

2022 Founders Award Winner

Mimmie Kwong, MD

University of California Davis

Poor Utilization of Palliative Care Amongst Medicare Patients with Chronic Limb Threatening Ischemia

Previous Winners


Sharon Kiang, MD, FACS, FSVS, RPVI
Loma Linda University


Leigh Ann O’Banion, MD
University of California Fresno