Rapid Fire Competition

Learn about the Rapid Fire Competition and its winners.

The Rapid Fire Competition is a series of two minute presentations that open the scientific session of each Western Vascular Society Annual Meeting. These presentations were formerly called ePosters. The winner receives a framed certificate and $100 award for the Rapid Fire Competition that is paid for by the Robert Hye Memorial Fund.

2022 Award Winners – Joint First Place

Eric Smith, MAS

Eric Smith, MAS

University of California San Francisco

Living in a Food Desert is Associated with Increased 2-Year Major Amputation Risk After Revascularization for Chronic Limb-Threatening Ischemia

Blake Murphy, MD

University of Washington

Aortic Size Index Accounts for Sex-Specific Differences in Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm Diameter at the Time of Rupture

Previous Winners


Michael Brewer, MD
Kaiser Permanente, California


Cassra Arbabi, MD
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center


Jason Alexander, MD
Vascular Specialists of Minnesota


JeniAnn Yi, MD
University of Colorado