Hye Memorial Competition

To honor the contribution of member Dr. Robert Hye.

Robert Hye MD

Robert Hye Memorial Best Resident / Trainee Competition

To honor the contribution of member Dr. Robert Hye, each year the Western Vascular Society Program Chair elects judges to evaluate the best full presentation by a medical student or resident. There are three cash prizes—$500, $250, and $100—and official commemorative certificates awarded at the final session of the meeting. In addition there is a certificate and $100 award for the best Rapid Fire Presentation. The awards are funded by donations collected at registration by the members and sponsors.

Thanks to the Robert Hye Donors

  • Dr. Oliver Aalami
  • Dr. Michael Belkin
  • Dr. Robert Chang
  • Natasha Edman
  • Dr. Eugene Groeger
  • Dr. Daniel Ihnat
  • Dr. Tony Katras
  • Dr. Daniel Miles
  • Dr. Leigh Ann O’Banion
  • Dr. Peter Schneider
  • Dr. Ben Starnes
  • Dr. Karen Woo
  • Dr. Ahmed Abou-Zamzam
  • Dr. Michael Conte
  • Dr. Ronald Dalman
  • Dr. Roy Fujitani
  • Dr. Tom Hatsukami
  • Dr. Tazo Inui
  • Dr. Jason Lee
  • Dr. Mark Morasch
  • Dr. Karen Quirk
  • Dr. Sherene Shalhub
  • Dr. Gale Tang
  • Dr. Wayne Zhang
  • W.L. Gore & Associates
  • Dr. Scott Berman
  • Dr. Thomas Curry
  • Dr. Carlos Donayre
  • Dr. Ian Gordon
  • Dr. Bradley Hill
  • Dr. Omid Jazaeri
  • Dr. Gregory Magee
  • Dr. Scott Musicant
  • Dr. Thomas Rehring
  • Eric Smith
  • Dr. Shant Vartanian
  • Dr. Wei Zhou

2023 Robert Hye Memorial Resident Competition Winners

First Place

Karissa M. Wang

University of California, Los Angeles

Revisions to Promote Maturation and Short-Term Death After Arteriovenous Fistula Creation

Second Place

Caronae Howell

University of Arizona

Improved Cognition and Preserved Hippocampal Fractional Anisotropy in Subjects Undergoing Carotid Endarterectomy

Third Place

Pedro Furtado Neves

University of Colorado

Surveillance and Risk Factors for Early Restenosis Following Transcarotid Artery Revascularization

2022 Robert Hye Memorial Resident Competition Winner

Reginald Nkansah, MD

Reginald Nkansah, MD

University of Washington

Utilization and Complications of Thoracic Endovascular Repair in Patients with Genetic Aortopathy

Previous Winners


Iris Liu, MD
University of California, San Francisco


Alexa Mordhorst, MD
University of British Columbia


Linda Wang, MD, MBA
Massachusetts General Hospital


Joel Ramirez, MD
University of California, San Francisco


Amir Ghaffarian, MD
University of Utah